Posted by: Laura | April 15, 2006

I’m REALLY nervous

I’m part of this great online quilting groups. They’ve helped me make a quilt that will be donated to Food n Friends, a local non profit organization that makes and delivers food to people homebound with AIDS, Cancer and other life challenging illnesses. I was going to make a quilt for this year’s Chef’s Best but I’m afraid it’s going to have to be postponed till 2007’s.

Anyway, I had to write this to all my groups. I feel really nervous…..

Good Morning Ladies and Gents!

I type this quite nervously, to be honest with you. Please just hear me out.

Food n Friends has their event, Chef’s Best, EVERY summer and lately I’ve been thinking about the quilt you all have been so kind and generous in helping me with. I’ve been thinking about getting it professionally quilted too so that it looks nice and fancy (and gets more money for FnF). I know that pro quilters get booked up pretty quickly too.

There have been events in my life, both non quilt related and related that helped me make the decision that I can not possibly finish the FnF quilt the way I would like for THIS YEARS FnF’s Chef’s Best.

I want to make it abundantly clear, however, THAT I AM ONLY POSTPONING THIS. I need some more time to finish blocks as well as nice fabrics for my blocks. I need more time to fins a resonably priced professional quilter. I do not want any of my quilts quickly made much less this one to be like that. I hope you all understand. I’m quite nervous because I’ve gotten nothing but kindness and support from y’all.

I’ve been volunteering at FnF since I was in the 8th grade (1996) so please understand — I WILL NOT FORGET THIS ORGANIZATION OR THIS PROJECT.

I will still be accepting donations of blocks and would be happy to send someone foundation pieces Katharine Magee was so kind enough to donate to me (Thanks KATHARINE!). If you have any questions, email me or look in the files section. The document is called New York Beauty auctioned quilt.

Sorry, Again,

Laura


Leave a comment

Categories