Posted by: Laura | April 15, 2008

Some Memes that I’d thought I’d do

Wuuuuuuuuusa. Things have been insanely busy at work. Seriously. Today has been the first day I took a lunch break and I was so pathetically excited about it.

I’ve combined three memes. The first is an ordinary one from Eunny Jang and the following two are more knitting specific and one focuses solely on socks, my never fail LOVE project.

Here is one I stole from Eunny.

What were you doing 9 years ago?
I was 17 and was finishing up my junior year of high school. I guess I was looking at colleges and preparing audition pieces for college auditions, back in the day when I thought I wanted to major in music.

What were you doing 6 years ago?

2002. Enjoying my best year of college. My sophomore year was truly my favorite. My roommate Chris probably had a crazy time observing me. I started that year at college going to class in PJs and ended it by going to class in nice skirts and make up

What were you doing 1 hour ago?
Cleaning out my inbox at work.

Name 3 movies/tv shows you can’t turn off if you stumble across them on TV

  1. Legends of the Fall. Of course Brad Pitt is unattainable eye candy but Adian Quinn is not that bad either.
  2. America’s Next Top Model. I’m sure half the readers, all two of them, have lost all respect for me now.
  3. Bravo Shows in general. There’s a reason why I’m in the Bravo Whore group on Ravelry

3 things you want to improve upon this year:

  1. my confidence or lack thereof
  2. fitness (I know these are starting to sound like new years resolutions)
  3. staying more organized

Name 3 material things you can’t live without (aside from knitting):

(I’m SURE I’m missing something essential here)

  1. Ravelry
  2. Spell check
  3. Cheese

Name 3 things you could live without:

  1. Anger. Yes it’s a valid feeling but too much of it suffocates me
  2. Bad drivers. (Self-explanatory)
  3. Tourists that don’t have a good head on their shoulder. Believe it or not, ones with a good head on their shoulder do exist…there are just too few.

Name 3 things you really like about yourself:

  1. Usually at my own expense, I can cheer many people up
  2. Vanity points–I f-ing love my hands and eyes. Call me vain but I find them beautiful
  3. I’m crafty and always have been. I like that most people recognize it and appreciate it.

A non-specific, love of knitting one I found here:

Do you knit continental or English?

I always have to look this up. gimme a second. …yay wikipedia. Continental.

How long ago did you learn to knit?

Well my mom taught me to crochet in the very late 90s. I was antsy one Saturday afternoon and to save me from boredom, she taught me to crochet. I still do that and enjoy making crocheted afghans. That sparked my curiosity and I taught myself to knit a little bit after that.

First FO?

A scarf? But I can’t for the life of me think of the Ravelry details of it. It was made, however, with Lion Brand Homespun, which I feel is the worst kind of yarn to learn on.

Favorite yarn?

Uh…for what do you have in mind? way way too broad a question. Favorite yarnS include, Socks that rock, Malabrigo, and the Rowan RYC Cashsoft yarns.

Favorite pattern?

I think Cookie’s patterns, overall, are very reliable and extremely innovative.

Favorite pattern source?

Ravelry. Yes it isn’t the source of all patterns but it’s on helluva database

Favorite needles?

Knitpicks Options. Jermaine got them for me for Christmas and I love them!

Nicest thing you’ve ever knit?

My mommy’s wedding shawl. I was truly honored that she wanted me to knit her something.

Most stressful project?

My mom’s wedding shawl because it’s the only one that has made me cry because of the dyelot drama

What project do you want to knit or technique do you want to learn?

I’m starting to get into spinning. Uh Oh. ANOTHER CRAFT!

Here’s a sock one I got from here

1. What’s your favorite sock yarn? (please note that the word ‘yarn’ is singular. Just pick one. I know it’s hard.)
Socks that Rock. I love how the yarn holds up and the color combinations are ASTOUNDING!

2. What’s your favorite type and brand of sock needle?
Knitpicks options, 32 inch lengths. I heart magic looping

3. Do you knit your socks toe up, cuff down, or sideways?
There seems to be teams in the sock knitting world about this. I can’t pick one. I can see advantages/disadvantages to both.

4. Do you knit both socks at once or just one at a time?
I tried two at a time and I just don’t care for it. I am glad I know of it in case it nears Christmas and I’m in a crunch but if I’m just knitting for leisure’s sake, I like doing it one at a time.

5. What’s your favorite toe and why?
The rounder the better. Words can’t explain how much I dislike pointy toes.

6. Favorite heel?
Sherman heel

7. Do you prefer plain or patterned socks?
I like patterns, more often than not, but I feel I should get some straight stockinette socks in my collection too.

8. Who do you knit the most socks for?
ME. I’m working on making more for me. But a majority of sock projects have been for me.

9. Do you darn your socks? If not, what do you do with them?
uh…wear them.

10. Do you only wear handknit socks?
My buddy Darsana and I have a goal to get to this point.

11. What pattern, if any, is your basic “I-just-need-a-pair-of-socks” sock pattern based on? Do you keep it written down or memorized?

Monkeys or some ribbed pattern.

12 Who do I tag?

If you wanna do this, consider yourself tagged. 🙂


Responses

  1. haha, i used to love america’s next top model but can’t watch it anymore because tyra banks gets on all of my nerves!


Leave a comment

Categories