Posted by: Laura | May 30, 2008

Secret Swap 12

Yay Secret Pal Swap 12!! I’ve always wanted to be a part of this swap but something was always in the way–found out about it too late…didn’t have a blog. Now I found out about it and even invited some of my friends and I’m looking forward to spoiling someone 😀

and for my spoiler:

What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely not like?

Fingering. I tend to like fingering yarns for both socks and lace items. I’m trying to appreciate laceweight yarns and become more comfortable with it. For sock yarns, I tend to like a thicker fingering weight. As far as worsted weight projects are concerned I love merino wools as well as Cascade 220. What a great yarn with a million different colors.

What do you use to store your needles/hooks in?

This little do-hickey. Jermaine got me the KP Options needles and I was thrilled when I didn’t get the binder. I love this little thing :-)\

How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced?

I’ve been knitting seriously for 2.5 years but have known how to do it since 2001. I would say I’m more intermediate. You can look at my project pages on Ravelry

Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list?

Amazon

Loopy Ewe

What’s your favorite scent?

I tend to like more watery scents. I know that sounds odd but I really can’t describe it any other way. Pier One for example, has their scents divided into different elements and I tend to like the “water” ones. (For the record, not a huge fan of Pier One except their scents. Wicker + kitties never result in anything pleasant from my experiences.)

Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy?

I do have a sweet tooth. Teehee. I’m pretty basic though. Plain old chocolate suites me just fine. That said, can’t really say it goes through the postal service nicely.

What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin?

I quilt but not as much as I knit. I really enjoy all the steps involved in quilting too and hope to get back to it but knitting, for the time being, has taken over. I might be getting a spinning wheel soon (This situation I seemed to have gotten myself in is almost too good to be true that’s why I’m not saying anything definite). Details to come. J

What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)

Yes my computer can play mp3s. I tend to like classic rock. I’ve been to ten Allman Brothers Band shows and tend to believe that Live at the Fillmore East happens to be the best live album evar. My first concert was Eric Clapton in 1995 and I find him to be one amazing performer. Others folks I enjoy listening to are simply oldies but goodies. Artists from 1966-1975, you really can’t go wrong with me. And we can not forget about the soul side…who doesn’t love some Marvin Gaye, Curtis Mayfield or Stevie?

What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand?

Blues/Greens/Purples are my favorite colors. Usually not a big fan of brights but I have to say I like it when there’s something bright in the skein countered by one or more of the mentioned darker colors. Colors I can take only in low dosages include yellow and orange. Especially their bright versions.

What is your family situation? Do you have any pets?

I live with my boyfriend of six years almost outside of DC with our two adorable kitties, Layla and Luna.

Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos?

Why, yes. I’m looking to make the Chevron Scarf with some Silkie STR. I wear all that’s above except ponchos.

What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?

Socks!!! But I also really enjoy lace and I’m entering the world of sweaters too. But I’m always up to cast on a pair of socks.

What are you knitting right now?

Oh goodness! As of today, I seem to be itching just to start stuff, left and right. For the most part, however, I’ve been good. I’m making a shawl for my mom for Christmas, plenty of socks are on the needles and I’m truggin’ along on Rogue

Do you like to receive handmade gifts?

Sure! 😀

Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?

I’m actually set on the needles front. I’ve got plenty of KP Option sock needles for magic looping and I’ve received the KP Options set for Christmas.

Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift?

Yes. And I love it

How old is your oldest UFO?

Courtney’s and Dwayne’s Wedding quilt. It’s been in the works for about two years.

What is your favorite holiday?

Call me corny but Thanksgiving. I find the idea behind it wonderful. I find that there are times when I get so bogged down by all the petty stuff that I forget that I’ve got a great life with great people/dogs/cats in it. Never said I was perfect. This holiday and merely thinking about it help me forget about the petty stuff.

Is there anything that you collect?

Aside from yarn? Nope.

Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?

Interweave’s Start Spinning comes to mind? But I have an Amazon list too.

Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn?

I can not think of any now but I know they exist. I’ll try to keep it in mind when I blog.

Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements?

Yes! I’ve participated in a few sock swaps and I remember making socks for my buddy wishing I had a trace of their sock. And, because I’m a complete nerd, I’ve done one and put it on Flickr.

When is your birthday?

January 22

What’s your Ravelry ID?

KnittinKitties


Responses

  1. Great idea with the foot measurements. I may have to nick this idea.

  2. Hi, this is your secret pal, checking in! Hope you got my e-mail and it didn’t go to spam…


Leave a comment

Categories