Posted by: Laura | March 26, 2008

Hello, Old Friend

I’ve been on a West Wing kick of late. Jermaine’s in a crunch time at school so he needed a somewhat quiet area to work on his website so I went into the craft room and plopped in front of season two. While watching it, I pulled out an old friend–Courtney’s Wedding Quilt.

As you can probably already tell, I’m hand quilting it. I don’t know what I was thinking when I thought that would be a good idea. Hand quilting a baby quilt=cute. Hand quilting a queen size quilt is quite a different story. It’s about 60% done. I made some resolutions this year as far as crafts were concerned and I aim to have this done by Courtney and Dwayne’s 2 year anniversary. [-O<[-O<[-O<

It is quite satisfying to hand quilt something. It takes close to forever to do

DSCN0153

Piecing the blocks

CTW quilt

Piecing the blocks together

DSCN0160

Making the quilt sandwich–backing/batting and top

DSCN0125
Marking quilt pattern on sandwich
DSCN0127
Finally quilting the quilt

It’s very laborious but I love this process because there are so many steps. It’s good to get back to. Don’t think I’ll handquilt a QUEEN sized again but it’s a nice change of pace.

Responses

  1. Wow, that is a beautiful quilt. Really spectacular!

  2. Amazing! It’s gorgeous. You did a great job with the colors–if I could make something like that I’m pretty sure I couldn’t bear to part with it!

  3. Wow, that is beautiful. I really want to learn quilting!

  4. WOW. it looks amazing. but by hand? you’re nuts! 🙂

  5. Seriously, that is a stunning quilt. I mean seriously. You should be SO very proud of your self for accomplishing that, because it really really rocks. Next up: you get to make a queen sized quilt for ME. (Hey, thanks!) 🙂

  6. It’s gorgeous! But all that sewing would definitely make me insane. Then again, that’s why I don’t quilt! But I can certainly appreciate the beautiful work of others. 🙂

  7. […] Courtney’s and Dwayne’s Wedding quilt. It’s been in the works for about two years. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

