Posted by: Laura | June 11, 2008

First of Many…

…Obama hats. Yes, I went there

DSCN1113

Pattern: Just an Ordinary hat pattern. I got the chart from this website
Yarn(s): Lion Brand Wool Ease (navy), Scraps of Patons Classic Merino Wool for the red and white and the light blue is Lion Brand Cotton Ease
Needle(s): Size 4 circulars for the ribbing and 5 DPNs for the rest of the hat
Casted On: June 8th, 2008
Casted Off: June 10th, 2008

This was the first time I’ve done duplicate stitching. The red areas came out fine but once I started the white areas it started looking…well let’s say I can’t describe it without using the word “cluster.” hehehehe But since I plan on making hats for Jermaine and Courtney and the babies in my life, I’ll have more time to practice before the inauguration

Responses

  1. hehe, you dork. i’m not a huge fan of duplicate stitching, but i’d rather do that than intarsia!

  2. Just a thought — you could knit the hat flat, and do the white part with intarsia, then you only have to duplicate stitch the red and light blue parts. Of course, then you have a seam up the back, which I always advise against (although, in fairness, I’m advising against it because I’m encouraging people to branch out and embrace knitting in the round as a new skill).


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

